Images courtesy of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society
British Society for the History of Pharmacy

Our current officers are:

Dr Chris Duffin

The President chairs BSHP's meetings and represents the Committee and the Society as a whole to external organisations.

Chris Duffin is a retired school teacher, geologist and pharmacy history researcher.

Prof Mark Nesbitt

The Vice-President acts as the President's deputy.

Mark Nesbitt is the curator of the Economic Botany Collection at Kew Gardens and author, with Kim Walker, of Just the Tonic: a Natural History of Tonic Water.

Dr Stuart Anderson

The Pharmaceutical Historian's Editor liaises with contributors, receives and edits articles and sees the journal through its publication process.

Stuart Anderson is editor of Making Medicines: A Brief History of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals (Pharmaceutical Press, 2005).

Honorary Treasurer
Mrs Selina Hurley

The Treasurer oversees the finances of the Society by processing payments and invoices promptly, and keeping the Society's accounts.

Selina Hurley is Curator of Medicine at the Science Museum. She has a interest in medical therapeutics including surgery and pharmacy.

Conference Organiser
Ms Briony Hudson

The Conference Organiser plans, organises and publicises the Annual conference, and takes bookings from delegates.

Briony Hudson is a freelance museum curator, pharmacy historian and lecturer.

Honorary Secretary
Mr Roy Allcorn

The Honorary Secretary provides secretarial support to the Committee and also acts as the Society's membership Secretary.

Roy Allcom, now retired, gained an interest in pharmacy history while working for the Royal Pharmaceutical Society where their museum and library was a key responsibility.